The Contract and Commercial Law Act 2017, which brings 13 commercial laws into one, came into force on 1 September 2017

Consumer Protection website changes

The Contract and Commercial Law Act is the result of the first revision bill of its kind. Revision bills re-enact laws to make them more accessible and user-friendly for modern audiences, and to ensure consistency across various laws.

While not substantially changing the law, the Act includes some important protections, for example when buying goods or services through private sales.

The original 13 laws that can no longer be accessed are the:

  • Carriage of Goods Act 1979
  • Contracts (Privity) Act 1982
  • Contractual Mistakes Act 1977
  • Contractual Remedies Act 1979
  • Electronic Transactions Act 2002
  • Frustrated Contracts Act 1944
  • Illegal Contracts Act 1970
  • Mercantile Law Act 1908 (section 1(4) and (5) and Parts 1, 2, and 4)
  • Mercantile Law Amendment Act 1922
  • Minors’ Contracts Act 1969
  • Sale of Goods Act 1908
  • Sale of Goods (United Nations Convention) Act 1994
  • Wages Protection and Contractors’ Liens Act Repeal Act 1987

Schedule 2 at the end of the Contract and Commercial Law Act 2017(external link) sets out where provisions from the original laws can be found in the new Act.